fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

WLW film and series networking event – sponsored by BMG

30 April @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm BST

Virtual Event
£5

Are you a creator of lesbian/bisexual films? Maybe a writer, director, producer, actor, or crew? Do you want to or currently Exec produce? No matter what your interest or experience, if you want to see more women loving women characters and stories on screen we invite you to a face to face networking event on Zoom.

We invite any lesbian, bisexual, nonbinary people who make or want to make wlw webseries or films – so if you are a director, producer Screenwriter, actor, crew, or LGBTQ+ musician this is for you!

We are hosting a face to face networking mixer event on Zoom on Friday April 30th.⠀

Come meet other creatives who want to collaborate. Meet like-minded creators. ⠀
The more people attend the more everyone gets out of it so invite your friends and other filmmakers.

At Lesflicks, we’re working to increase the knowledge of and access to lesbian/bisexual film and series. We are also looking to connect with and help to network filmmakers, producers, directors, actors and crew to network. We know how hard it is to find cast and crew for productions. We also know how hard it is to produce and to fund. We want to facilitate a networking event. To hear challenges, share successes and see what, where and how we can help. We already have some ideas but we want to hear from you! We also want to bring you together.

Hosted by Lesflicks; we will have a quick 15 minute introduction, followed by 30 minutes of general discussion around the current position of lesbian/bisexual film. Following this we will open break out rooms and you will be able to go into various rooms to chat face to face with other people at the event. At the end we will come back together to share what we’ve discussed.

We will also be launching our filmmaker resources:

  • LBTQ Film Database listing all lesbian & bisexual films. We’re also working on a proper database of all films and series featuring wlw… this is no small task and a work in progress.
  • LGBTQ+ Film Festival Database listing all LGBTQ film festivals around the world
  • LBTQ People Database listing all directors, producers, crew to help find people for projects. We are creating a LBTQ filmmaker database to help networking and finding crew and actors.
  • LGBTQ+ Musician database listing a selection of musicians who are open to having their music used in film
  • Film Production Slate database listing projects seeking producers, directors or investors

All of these databases are connected and interlinked. We hope these resources plus this event (and future events) will result in good connections, and perhaps lead to some projects!

We will be announcing a new partnership to spearhead and create private investment vehicles to fund new wlw content. Starting with web series, but seeking to extend out to films down the line. We will explain how this scheme will work and announce the dates for pitching for the first phase.

Around the world, the LGBT community operates on a shoestring budget. This is especially true when it comes to queer visual content such as web series. Although the queer community is perpetually hungry for more representation, the community as a whole struggles to effectively raise funds to make that happen.

If crowdfunding is unreliable and self-financing a painful burden at best, an insurmountable obstacle at worst, where does that leave content creators? Well come along to this event and find out!!


Important: the confirmation with the zoom link is sent via email so check your spam and junk folders!

Friday 30 April 2021, 7pm-9pm BST

Check out the list below to find your local timezone!

  • London, United Kingdom Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 19:00 BST
  • Los Angeles, USA Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 11:00 PDT
  • Chicago, USA Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 13:00 CDT
  • New York, USA Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 14:00 EDT
  • Brasília Time, BRT Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 15:00 BRT
  • Cairo, Egypt Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 20:00 EET
  • South Africa Standard Time, SAST Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 20:00 SAST
  • Amman, Jordan Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 21:00 EEST
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates Fri, 30 Apr 2021 at 22:00 GST
  • Auckland, New Zealand Sat, 1 May 2021 at 06:00 NZST

 

RESERVE YOUR SPACE BELOW, STRICTLY LIMITED!

Venue

Zoom-Online

Organiser

Naomi Bennett
Email:
lesflicks@lesflicks.com

Registrations are closed for this event