Lesflicks Film Festival 2020

In the absence of our physical film clubs we are bringing you watch parties. Meet online, watch a feature film and share your thoughts after. We know it isn’t the same, but we hope you enjoy it. We’ve been loving them so far.

Lesflicks would normally bring you three days of quality short and feature lesbian films in a cinema in a field as part of the UK’s lesbian arts festival, LFEST. This year the LFEST festival is postponed and so Lesflicks has decided to take the film festival part of the event online and make it global! This means we can still support and amplify these amazing short films (and we’re looking at supporting the feature films in some way when the UK is in a better position to hold a physical film festival).

Join us for three days of short film screenings, live Q&A discussions, an interactive screening and audience discussion and face to face creative industry networking at the first ever Lesflicks Online Film Festival.

Tickets will be available from Sunday 12 July – all screenings are free, but registration is essential as spaces are limited. Each screening is taking place twice to ensure that LBTQ women from all over the world can join the watch along events and share the experience of these films with their community.

Reserve your space when tickets go live 

Spaces are limited. To hear as soon as they go live, make sure you subscribe to our newsletter and you customise your subscription to include event news.

Click here to find out information about using Zoom, and how we’re keeping you safe at our events

⏯️ Watch the trailer

Take a look at the trailer for the festival to get a taster of what to expect

Join us for three days of short film screenings, live Q&A discussions, an interactive screening and audience discussion and face to face creative industry networking at the first ever Lesflicks Online Film Festival.

Why not share this trailer with friends and help amplify lesbian film?

Herstories
A selection of stories that reflect on and explore our beautiful and diverse herstory.
(1 hr 38 mins)
  • Chloé Viau – Transgender Activist
  • Death Do Us Part
  • Anneler Günü (Mother’s Day)
  • Somnia
  • Things Break In
  • Tomorrow Island
  • The Passionate Pursuits Of Angela Bowen Short
WATCH PARTY 1: Friday 24 July 2020

11am London, 12pm Europe, 6pm Perth, 8pm Sydney/Melbourne

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

WATCH PARTY 2: Friday 24 July 2020

7pm London, 8pm Europe, 11am West Coast USA, 2pm East Coast USA

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

Medleys
From superheroines to supervillains, and musicals to noodles. This is a delightful assortment of films to suit every taste.
(2h 5m)
  • A Single Evening
  • It’s Just A Story
  • Transmission
  • Weekend Break
  • Academic Super Squad
  • Noodles & Incense
  • Kill: Norwood
  • Lioness
  • In Orbit
WATCH PARTY 1: Saturday 25 July 2020

11am London, 12pm Europe, 6pm Perth, 8pm Sydney/Melbourne

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

WATCH PARTY 2: Saturday 25 July 2020

5pm London, 6pm Europe, 9am West Coast USA, 12pm East Coast USA

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

Journeys
Stories that reflect our resilient journeys of sex, discovery, and transformation.
(1hr 36 min)
  • Nice Chinese Girls Don’t
  • The Bra Mitzvah
  • Babe
  • Our Song
  • Each And Every Night
  • When Harri Met Salma
  • Somewhere In Between
  • Ryan Cassata – Daughter
WATCH PARTY 1: Saturday 25 July 2020

9pm London, 10pm Europe, 1pm West Coast USA, 4pm East Coast USA, 6am Sydney/Melbourne

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

WATCH PARTY 2: Sunday 26 July 2020

11am London, 12pm Europe, 6pm Perth, 8pm Sydney/Melbourne

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

Love Stories
Films that explore the love, romance, and friendships of bisexual and lesbian women.
(1h 45m)
  • Laynie Needs A Light
  • Love, Paper, Scissors (Lyubov, Nozhica, Hartiya)
  • Pastry
  • Synchronicity
  • Out In Love
  • Bi-Curious Sleepover
  • Her.
  • To You
WATCH PARTY 1: Sunday 26 July July 2020

1pm London, 2pm Europe, 8pm Perth, 10pm Sydney/Melbourne, 8am East Coast USA

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

WATCH PARTY 2: Sunday 26 July 2020

7pm London, 8pm Europe, 11am West Coast USA, 2pm East Coast USA

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

Communities

Communities are important for connection, support and strength. We close this special festival with a screening of The Whistle followed by an interactive audience discussion about the importance of communities and how we can come together as a community to amplify lesbian film, and support each other.

WATCH PARTY & INTERACTIVE AUDIENCE DISCUSSION ABOUT COMMUNITIES

Watch Party and discussion: Sunday 26 July 2020

6am Sydney/Melbourne, 9pm London, 10pm Europe, 1pm West Coast USA, 4pm East Coast USA

??️RESERVE YOUR PLACE

Industry networking

This is not a webinar!! We will be using Zoom Rooms to enable real networking to take place. Pre-book your choice of 3 sessions to network on key topics. Advance registration essential.

networking event: Saturday 25 July 2020

7am West Coast USA, 10am East Coast USA, 3pm London, 4pm Europe, 10pm Perth, midnight Sydney/Melbourne

??️Find out more about this networking event

??️Reserve your space

The live interactive Q&A Panel will stream here on Sunday 26 July 2020

LIVE Q&A

? Sunday 26 July  ? 10pm (Perth), midnight (Melbourne/Sydney) ? 3pm (UK) ? 4pm (Europe) ? 10am (East Coast USA) ? 7am (West Coast USA)

Live Q&As with filmmakers
Want to find out more about any of the films? Got a burning question for the creator? We have a live Q&A panel where you can do just that!
Access via Facebook, YouTube or here on Lesflicks
ZOOM: registering to secure your place

Pre-registration is required. This helps us to monitor participants to keep the space safe. Once you register keep the confirmation email safe as you will need the link to enter the event. There is a waiting room on arrival so you can arrive a little early. Guests will be admitted at the start time. If you can no longer attend please cancel so we can offer the space to someone else. Spaces are limited and we want to ensure everyone who wants to attend can. Each event starts with a quick zoom how to.

ZOOM: using online tools and maintaining your safety and security

You may have heard about recent Zoom security problems. At Lesflicks we care about your safety. We only run events using the full safety features. Due to this we have held over 20 events with no issues. We pre-approve all registrations and review all guests in the waiting room before admittance. 

Download Zoom: https://zoom.us/download